News & Media |  Donate  |  Contact Us | 
SFDPH Home
Search
 
Frequently
Asked Questions
  
San Francisco Health Network
Environmental Health

Helpful Links

Density

Tobacco Permits

Tobacco 21

Flavored Tobacco

Smoke Prevention

Related Information

Permit Fees

 

San Francisco Health Code:

Article 19H Tobacco Sales

19H Rules and Regulations (pdf)

19H Affidavit (pdf)

19H.19(a) Suspension Reduction Pilot (pdf)

Article 19P Tobacco 21

Article 19 Smoking Pollution Control

 

Please Note:
  1. Fees are non-refundable.
  2. Bounced check fees are $50.00
  3. We do not accept cash.
  4. You are responsible for paying your yearly tobacco license fee.

 

Program Contact

Uzziel Prado

Senior Environmental Health Inspector

1390 Market St., Suite 210

San Francisco, CA 94102

 

Phone: (415) 252-3873

Fax: (415) 252- 3894

Email: uzziel.prado@sfdph.org

Tobacco Permit Density Cap

 

San Francisco Health Code Article 19H establishes a cap of 45 permits in each Supervisorial district. This article of the health code is implemented by Rules and Regulations governing 19H.

The amendments provide some exceptions; in general no new permits for the sale of tobacco, including e-cigarettes as defined in 19(N), will be issued for an establishment where:

  • The total number of existing permits in the Supervisorial District exceeds 45
  • The location will be within 500 feet of a school
  • The location will be within 500 feet of another location that is permitted to sell tobacco under 19H
  • Restaurants, bars or tobacco shops, or any establishment not already permitted
  • The location was not previously occupied by a permitted Establishment.

 

The law does not affect annual permit renewals where payment of the annual renewal fee is made in a timely way.

 

The amendments require assessment of the tobacco density cap every two years. For 2015-2016, the density cap is 45, and SFDPH has determined that only Supervisorial District 7 (Inner Sunset) is below the density cap. Tobacco retail permits may be available for issue in District 7 until the cap is reached, as long as the new permitee meets the other requirements of 19H and all other all local, state, and federal laws.

 

Under the California Cigarette & Tobacco Products Licensing Act of 2003 businesses also require a permit from the State Board of Equalization, which is intended to insure the proper collection of tobacco taxes. Mobile tobacco sales are prohibited in the state of California.

 

2014tobaccodensity

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Making a Complaint

If you would like to make a complaint regarding the illegal sale of tobacco to minors or a related tobacco sales complaint, call 311.

311 City Customer Service Agency - Service 24x7

San Francisco Department of Public Health Environmental Health Branch